4 Tips for Dating: High School vs College

05Oct11

Sometimes, I think that the most alluring and yet terrifying aspect of going to college is learning how to date at a college level. You see, there is a difference between high school dating and college dating – such a drastic difference that many students don’t know how to navigate around it their first few months at college, so I thought I’d share a few bits of hard-earned wisdom with you:

1) Asking someone out

In high school, asking someone out is pretty complicated. You tell your friend who tells her/his friend that you like her/him, in hopes that that friend will, in turn, tell the girl/guy that you like. If it comes back through the grapevine that he/she likes you, then you’ll ask that person out; if not, then you pretend like nothing ever happened and walk past them confidently awkwardly stare at the floor, maturely smile at them with your hands in your pockets, every time you pass that person.

It’s exhausting (even just typing out that whole ordeal was exhausting…).

In college, if you see someone you like, man, you take that bull by the horns (not literally because that’d just be weird) and just ask them out! Right then and there. No games.

If all else fails, just draw a picture of her. Napolean Dynamite did and he took her to the big dance. Success. (Credit: http://www.photolog.com)

2) Should you bring flowers?

Guys, I’m going to help you out a little here. When you’re in high school, it’s not at all expected that you bring flowers. You’re still too young and aren’t probably making nearly enough money to afford that, and the girls realise that. They’ll just be happy to be out with you. However, if you do bring flowers for your date, she will think you are amazing, will have those flowers in a vase on her dresser for 2 weeks, will then dry them when they look like they’re about to die, keep them pressed in a book, and will talk about what a sweet guy you are for the next decade. Seriously. That is what we do. You will become a legend.

If you’re in college, try giving your date just one nice flower. She’ll think you’re being all romantic because you’re a poor student and yet you thought she was special enough to spend your last $15 on such a beautiful flower (even if you bought it at the local A&P for $1.97 ).

Deb's wearing a corsage. Napolean is now a legend.

3) Where to take your date

Here are some appropriate places to take your date if you’re still in high school:

  • Β Burger King (it’s pretty inexpensive and you get a toy with every kid’s meal, so that’s always pretty cool…)
  • the school cafeteria (you eat there every day anyway, so you might as well just sit at the same table and call it a “date”)
  • 5 pin bowling (you must also ask the staff to raise the bumpers to prevent gutter balls…raising them will also raise your self-esteem and score. Win-win situation).
  • Chuck E Cheese (you are able to eat tons of pizza and hit moles on the head with a bat. Who doesn’t want to do this?)

Best. Date. Ever. (Credit: http://www.vimeo.com)

If you’re now in college, you might want to re-evaluate your options and include some like this:

  • a medium grade restaurant (something a little better than Burger King, but not too good – you don’t want to spoil your date to have high expectations of you. You’ve gotta save something for his/her birthday, right?)
  • the campus pub (always good because the food is cheap and you’ll probably run into people you know, thus alleviating the pressure of a first date. Also, if the date isΒ  horrible, you can end it early by whispering the fact to your friend and making them come up with an excuse for you to leave – I’ve done that before. Don’t judge me.)
  • 10 pin bowling (because you’re all grown-up now and that’s the way they roll in the big leagues…)
  • anything but Chuck E Cheese

You just KNOW this guy was a hit with the ladies in his day... (Credit: http://www.squidoo.com)

4) Who pays the bill?

If you’re in high school, then the answer is “whoever gives you your allowance”. Usually your parents. So, make sure to thank your parents for a lovely evening, and tell them that you should do it again soon.

If you’re in college, the answer is easy: whoever does the asking. That’s it, people. No arguments.

At the end of the date, make sure you show your date your sweet dance moves...incredible.

What are your dating tips for college students? Do you think that eating at Chuck E Cheese is okay at any age? Do you expect your date to bring you flowers? Who do you think should pay for the date?

39 Responses to “4 Tips for Dating: High School vs College”

  1. That was great…never went to college fell in love & got married right after I graduated…had to get a job…LOL Great tips though. Always great to read what you have to say.

    • Well, I dated people while I was in high school, and I dated people when I was in university, and I had very different experiences between the two…haha. I figured that there would probably be some poor college kid wondering if his potential date would mind the line-up at McDonald’s or not…thought I’d set him straight on what to do. πŸ˜‰

      Oh, but maybe I’m not the right person to do that…after all, I like eating Big Macs… πŸ˜‰

      Thanks again for dropping by, Mindslam! You’re the best!

  2. Wonderfully funny look at dating. And yay for more strike-throughs! I had all of two dates (both same guy) in college so I can’t really offer any tips. Thanks for another fun post!

    • Do you know that I actually wrote this post and just before publishing it, I decided to go back and add the strike-throughs…just for you?! Honestly, I did! Haha. πŸ™‚

      You should be glad that you only dated one guy twice in college; when I look back on some of the guys I dated, I wonder what I was thinking at the time…haha.

      Thanks again for stopping by, Anne! Always love your comments and your kind words! πŸ™‚

      • That is sooooo awesome! β™₯

      • Well, you’re soooo awesome… πŸ™‚

  3. I could’ve used this about 15 years ago. Thanks a lot. πŸ™‚

    • Well, some of the rules still apply…like the Chuck E Cheese one (just thought I’d clarify in case there was any confusion)… πŸ˜‰

      Thanks again for stopping in, Clay! Much appreciated!

  4. I’m reminded of an episode of TV’s “Reba” where her ex-husband is advising his son-in-law you never want to set the bar too high on things for fear of never being able to top it. In their case, it was an anniversary date. I think that outlook applies here. No matter what you ultimately decide on, you want to build upon each “trip” out. That being said, you also don’t want to start at “rock bottom.” For Date #1, I was big on a movie with a bit of ice cream or dessert afterwards to discuss the film (if nothing else)…and evaluate mutual interest and potential for Date #2…which would then likely be the mid-level dining establishment.

    • Those are some pretty good ideas, I have to admit. To be honest, I’m always a fan of having coffee on the first date. It gives you time to actually talk, but if things are awkward, it’s okay to end it after a half hour or an hour; when you go to dinner, you must wait until everything has been served and the bill has been paid. No thanks. If things are awkward, I want to get outta there as fast as possible…haha.

      Thanks again for dropping by, SportsAttitudes! I always appreciate your comments… πŸ™‚

  5. Great fun post and pretty accurate, from what I remember of my high school and college dating. Now let’s hear about dating in the real world. Please!

    • Dating in the real world?! Ugh…who knows how to do that?? πŸ˜‰

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Doc! Greatly appreciated!

  6. Really interesting piece of advise…
    Good for those who need it and better for those who are jus viewers to dates happening around them πŸ™‚

    • Haha! Yes, I think many people just watch other dates happen around them. In fact, sometimes it’s actually fun to go people watch and pick out the couples that are on their first dates…it’s always awkward, so you can spot them a mile away.

      Yes, this is what I do for fun. Don’t judge me.

      Thanks very much for dropping by and taking the time to comment, Dev! πŸ™‚

  7. This is so true.

    I was thinking about the differenced between dating in high school and college and college dating is SO much easier.

    • Very true. High school dating is always awkward…even if you’re not terrible at it. πŸ˜‰ College dating is just so much easier…probably because you’re more secure in who you are. Oh, and also because you usually don’t take your date to Burger King. That always helps.

      Thanks for stopping by, Out of State! Very thankful for your comment! πŸ™‚

  8. Having exams right now. Can’t wait for reading you again!!!

    • Lol! Thanks, Javi! πŸ™‚

      • I mean, I havent already read this post. When I do so, I will comment as I ever use to do πŸ˜› ( longer comment ofc!)

        Big hug!

      • Haha! Yeah, I know that’s what you meant…no worries! πŸ™‚

        Thanks again, Javi…you’re such a loyal reader and commentator commenter you always leave great comments! πŸ˜‰ You’re the best!

  9. Love this post! Glad I found your blog… great stuff.

    • Thanks so much, cbowiephoto! Greatly appreciated! πŸ™‚

  10. 23 Fashion Diary

    Thank you for the tips ! πŸ˜€ But I’m still just in middel age school πŸ˜›

    • You’re welcome! You probably don’t need to worry about any of this stuff yet, but when you do…you know where to find some hard-hitting-dating-world journalism… πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment, Fashion Diary! Much appreciated! πŸ˜€

  11. I got steps 2-4 down, but it’s that first one that always gets me. The coward in me is strong!

    • Yes, that is the one that most people struggle with, so that’s why I put it first! Honestly, though, I don’t understand why it’s so difficult…just ask the person out. What’s the worst that can happen? Well, besides shattering your frail ego… πŸ˜‰

      Thanks so much for stopping in and taking the time to comment, 1 Story…I’m so grateful!! πŸ˜€

      P.S. And stop being such a coward!! πŸ˜‰

      • I just might have… if BTH wasn’t in another country. πŸ˜‰

      • Haha! Smooth…very smooth!

  12. Sooooo glad I don’t have to deal with dating any more. Massive failures on my part on steps 1-4 in HS, College, and beyond.

    • Oh, you’re lucky! I still struggle with steps #1 (I never ask anyone out), #2 (I always bring flowers – for some reason, guys think it’s weird when I give them a fist full of daisies…), #3 (I always suggest Burger King as a fine dining option, especially on Whopper Wednesdays), and #4 (I never pay the bill…always say stuff like, “Wow! I can’t believe I forgot my wallet again!” and then nudge the bill toward him with my elbow).

      Huh…I wonder why I’m single… πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for dropping by again, FoodAndWine!

  13. You had me at the Napoleon Dynamite pics.

    • Haha! Awesome. Yeah, you either love Napolean Dynamite or you just don’t get it.

      I am someone who loves that movie and I think that, if anything, I’ve learned that a dorky guy named Kip can get a glamorous woman named LaFawnduh, even though he has nothing to offer and only eats nachos all day. That’s accurate, right?

      Thanks for stopping in, Canadian Bald Guy! It’s greatly appreciated! πŸ™‚

  14. Excellent post haha I couldn’t stop smiling for even a split second! I loved it! and I am in high-school (we call 12th grade college here though) but we do all the stuff that a college person should do according to you! but seriously what you wrote is perfect! it is cute, justified and so romantic!

    And it seems that you have some liking for bowling men πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

    I tried the flowers thing once πŸ˜‰ don’t ask! lol

    Great post!!! I wanna favourite this post!

    • Haha! Yeah, apparently, I find bowlers attractive… πŸ˜‰

      Thanks so much for your kind words, Sharvil…always very appreciated! Also, I know you told me not to ask, but…how did you go wrong bringing flowers to your date?? I’m so curious now! Haha!

  15. Unless, like me, your date is highly allergic to flowers (;

  16. My first date with my wife consisted of four hours of conversation at Burger King! We weren’t in high school, but we have lasted 17 years so far…

    • Well then you must have sprung for the Whopper combo for her right? If any man does that for me, I’ll be his for life…

  17. It`s very pleasure to read a story like this ,:)

    • Thanks very much for stopping in again, Jake! Much appreciated! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

